Song of the Sea

Song of the Sea copyright 2013 by Vivian Cheung

Song of the Sea copyright 2013 by Vivian Cheung

When I think of summer, images of the ocean comes to mind. The ocean is a source of music which is incomparable to anything else in life. I also came across J.R.R. Tolkien’s lyrics to “Legolas’s Song of the Sea”. Not only are the words beautiful, but Yolanda Mott, an accomplished cellist, vocalist, and guitar player, composed a breath-taking melody to accompany them: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zZ2nrsOhpxc.
May you enjoy the illustration, the song, and memories you might have of the sea.

To the Sea, to the Sea! The white gulls are crying,
The wind is blowing, and the white foam is flying.
West, west away, the round sun is falling.
Grey ship, grey ship, do you hear them calling,
The voices of my people that have gone before me?

I will leave, I will leave the woods that bore me;
For our days are ending and our years failing.
I will pass the wide waters lonely sailing.
Long are the waves on the Last Shore falling,
Sweet are the voices of the Lost Isle calling,
In Eressea, in Elvenhome that no man can discover,
Where the leaves fall not: land of my people for ever!

6 responses

Leave a Reply

