Around the World in Four and a Half Years

sketchtravel

In addition to the Ezra Jack Keats exhibit (see previous post), the Cartoon Art Museum was my second destination in San Francisco. I had no idea that the Sketch Travel Project would be on display and was in for a delightful surprise. I love to view other people’s sketchbooks because they allow me to see the thoughts and processes of their ideas. But this blew my mind as far as sketchbooks go. The Sketch Travel project began in 2006; it was a collaboration between seventy-one artists from twelve countries. The sketchbook was passed from person to person until 2011 when it was completed and auctioned off to raise money for Room to Read, an international non-profit organization.

sketch5

What blew my mind most of all was that Hayao Miyazaki was one of the artists involved. Some of the other incredibly talented artists are:

Yuko Shimizu

Yuko Shimizu

Luis Grane

Luis Grane

Bob McKenzie

Bob McKenzie

Taiyo Matsumoto

Taiyo Matsumoto

Quentin Blake

Quentin Blake

Greg Couch

Greg Couch

Leuyen Pham

Leuyen Pham

I wish I would post all seventy-one pieces on my blog for you to see. By the way, the sketchbook has been reprinted and is available on Amazon.com for purchase. All in all, visiting the two galleries was a breath of much-needed inspiration.

Leave a Reply

