Toto, I Have a Feeling We’re Not in _________ Anymore

Alien Skin is a song created by Nathan Baird and it is not what you think; there are no outer-space beings invading the world. It was written with the point-of-view of foreign junior high and high school students who were sent by their parents to study English in America. As they navigate the vastly different language and cultural norms of our country, feelings of homesickness, loneliness, frustration, confusion, and abandonment surface (represented by the five crows). They yearn to return to the familiarity of their homeland just as Dorothy wants to go back to Kansas. Alien Skin can be heard by clicking here: http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/artist_songs/441723

The lyrics are:

Everyone I meet

People on the street can tell that I just don’t belong

Every passer-by

I look in the eye makes me feel that something’s wrong with me

If I could break the vault of heaven I would fly away…

{Now I’ve crashed landed here

I fell down through the atmosphere

And now all I can see is the blue sky

My home is so far

I’ve tried to fit in

But I just can’t pretend that I’m okay

I need to climb my way back to the stars

Back to the stars…}

I can never win

This alien skin is choking me before I start

I wrap myself in lies but I can’t disguise

The constellations that burn in my heart

I look up every night and hope to find a letter from home

{Now I’ve crashed landed here

I fell down through the atmosphere

And now all I can see is the blue sky

My home is so far

I’ve tried to fit in

But I just can’t pretend that I’m okay

I need to climb my way back to the stars

Back to the stars…}

