A Persistent Train of Thought

My brother-in-law, Nathan Baird, is a talented guy; he writes original songs for his band Homespun Royal to perform at house shows once a month. His lyrics are whimsical and thought-provoking. One of my favorite songs is called Persistent; it is about a girl who read The Little Engine That Could for the first time in her adult life;  she was inspired by the perseverance of the main character. For those who have never read this story, it can be found by clicking here: http://positivethinkersjournal.blogspot.com/2010/10/little-engine-that-could.html. To enjoy Nathan’s song, click here: http://www.reverbnation.com/artist/artist_songs/441723.

The lyrics are:

She said, “I say the things that pop into my head

The first things that jump into my head

The very first things

I read, the other day about a train

A book about a determined train

A persistent train

Now the world is full of mystery

My eyes are opened and I see

Hope dancing in the in-betweens

All around me”

{And now I try to find the words but they don’t come

And it’s not that I can’t say them, it’s that I can’t say enough

I can’t say enough, I can’t say enough, it’s not enough}

She looked

Into my eyes and read me like a book

Into my eyes and skimmed me just like a book

Into my soul

A book

About a little train that thought it could

That faced a mountain and believed it could

A persistent train

{And now I try to find the words but they don’t come

And it’s not that I can’t say them, it’s that I can’t say enough

I can’t say enough, I can’t say enough, it’s not enough}

Now even through the blues and grays

My troubles stay but I have changed

And wonder’s never far away from me

It’s a long way to the end

And the road can be so rough

Some would say the joy is small

When it’s really more than enough

It’s more than enough

It’s enough

 

Leave a Reply

