A Bicycle Built for Three

I’ve noticed that a lot of cyclists enjoy riding along the street where I work. One day, I counted at least ten cyclists in the span of ten minutes, one of which is a family on a tandem bike for three. The adult rode in the front while two children pedaled behind him. I wondered as I watched them pedal in unison how difficult (and safe) it is to ride together on the same contraption. I was enlightened when I found a YouTube video of the Smith family riding a tandem bike: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=fvwp&NR=1&v=ZG545aEwiJo. It appears quite fun (the little one likes to show off his tricks in the back). Some day if I have the chance, I wouldn’t mind riding a bicycle built for two, or three, or four.

Leave a Reply

