A Little TLC

I love to give old furniture new life; sometimes all they need is a little TLC. Last month, I was blessed with five encounters of curb-side free pieces; one of which is a large oak table. On that particular day,  I turned into a street I don’t normally drive through and there it was: a beat-up 30 x 36 inch, heavy-as-heck table, perfect for doing my artwork on. I was using a nice sewing machine table which I refurbished last year but the tabletop space was cramped and the height was not right. So I was determined to take this piece home in the trunk of my four door sedan no matter what. God really blessed me because there was no way I could have done it without help. Lo and behold, the original owner just happened to see me struggle with the darn thing and he came out with a powered screwdriver (I am truly thankful for him); he took the table top off (which weighs 45 pounds by itself) and voila! The two pieces fit like a puzzle in the trunk of my car. I spent a week in the mornings sanding and staining it. After much anticipation and gratefulness, I get to use it today.

A little TLC goes a long way.

2 responses

  1. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

