Pride

I used to be proud as a peacock, self-sufficient and independent, living life my way or the highway. Being young and proud made me feel invincible; I could do anything I set my mind to, anything that is until I met the biggest challenge in my life: living with an abusive alcoholic. There was no rhyme or reason to the chaos caused by alcoholism no matter how much order I tried to force into our lives. My life was a hell-hole and it didn’t get better until I began to see that I cannot do it alone; I needed help from God and from my friends and family. I had to admit that I was not invincible and that my pride was the root of my troubles.

The past has been painful but now I have hope in a future that does not involve fear and darkness. With 20/20 hindsight, I realized that God has always been by my side; I just had to get off my high horse and admit that I am not a god. He had protected me through a lot of turmoil and He continues to protect me and tell me I am loved. I no longer have to act proud to get along in the world.

Leave a Reply

